Reviews

What people are saying about Hunters Lodge Hotel




Great pit stop - Rating 5/5

Super hostess clean large rooms nice good and excellent location

Reviewer:ian s | Sun 20th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


wedding - Rating 5/5

had a lovely stay very friendly people would recommend it would go back a gain

Reviewer:maria a | Sun 20th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Enjoyed our stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent accomodation and lovely stay. Lookingforward to our next stay.

Reviewer:David M | Sun 20th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Hunters Lodge - Rating 4/5

We stayed for 2 nights. The hotel was very quiet, which aided a good night's sleep. Staff, the proprietors, are extremely helpful and welcoming. Overall a very enjoyable visit

Reviewer:Colin F | Sat 19th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


A pleasure to visit this hotel again. - Rating 5/5

It is always a pleasure to visit this hotel.The rooms are spacious and décor first class.The location, meals and owners are just what you want for a good holiday. We will return again.

Reviewer:Mr John M | Tue 15th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Beyond expections- Rating 5/5

We didn't check in till late but we had an message from Hunters Lodge informing us of last check in time which was very polite and helpful. The lady who i am assuming was the owner was absolutely lovely and very welcoming.The room was lovely and bed comfortable .Excellent value for money,will definitely stay here again .

Reviewer:Victoria N | Mon 30th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Mr&Mrs - Rating 5/5

Having tried many times to contact booking.com without success as they had not given us a PIN number we brought our visit forward one night.We were treated very well and we booked a twin room.Everything was excellent,staff,room and food.Would certainly stay with you again.

Reviewer:Mr Edward E | Sun 29th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Perfect base for our wedding. - Rating 5/5

Superb,little,hotel in a perfect location. Upon arrival the owner/receptionist/hostess, upgraded us to a larger room.we had 3 rooms for 5 adults.all rooms were a good size with all that we needed in them. The breakfast was amazing ,esp the haggis balls. This hotel was a perfect place for the registry office,shops and bars. Its such a relaxed atmosphere.We definitely recomend staying here.

Reviewer:Mr Ian T | Sat 28th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Trip to Blenheim - Rating 5/5

Lovelg room. Lovely food. Lovely lady who was extremely helpful. Will book again

Reviewer:Wendy M | Fri 20th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Recent overnight stay. - Rating 5/5

We had a very relaxing overnight stay at Hunters Lodge. Our room was very clean light and spacious with everything we required. Comfortable beds with white cotton bedding.Our continental breakfast was ideal and our thoughtful host made us feel as if nothing was too much trouble.A delightful privately owned hotel with old world charm, which is well worth a visit whether as a single night stopover or a more extended stay to enjoy the surrounding area which offers border life adventures.We will certainly be returning.

Reviewer:Stuart F | Mon 16th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Very welcoming - Rating 5/5

The hotel was very welcoming from when we arrived through to our departure.It was the perfect stop over for us.We would certainly return.

Reviewer:Ali T | Mon 16th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

Very friendly staff adequate breakfast nice clean room roasting bath very comfortable bed nice kebab shop 2 minutes walk away central to everything no complaints whatsoever

Reviewer:Mr David G | Sat 14th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Overnight stay. - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay. Had our usual room with bath. Evening meal very good. Pleasant evening in bar with our host.

Reviewer:Mr David P | Thu 5th Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


A gem of a hotel - Rating 5/5

It would be difficult to find a hotel that can give better value than Hunters Lodge. We are returning clients and ALWAYS find the hospitality, the cleanliness of the rooms and the quality of the meals exceptional. Good luck in the Great North Run on Sunday Garry

Reviewer:Ms Sandra C | Tue 3rd Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


Lovely hotel brilliant staff - Rating 5/5

We were so pleased with our stay here. The room was modern with a cool highland cow theme and the bathroom was spacious with a large bath. Our room was accessible directly from the car park which was useful for us and gave us privacy. The staff were attentive and made sure we had enough teabags etc.The breakfast was a lovely fry up with a Scottish style which was really nice. There were also lovely croissants and juice to help ourselves to. Breakfast was between 8-9 which is really nice as it’s not too early. The owner was really lovely and offered us advice if we needed it.I would recommend this to anyone it’s very reasonable.

Reviewer:Mary S | Sun 1st Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


First Rate Stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely room, excellent food and friendly staff. Would recommend a stay here

Reviewer:Mr Tom C | Mon 26th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Great wee B&B - Rating 5/5

Perfect stay in this lovely, clean B&B. Friendly welcome and fab evening meal. The breakfast was amazing!!! Very central too. Only stayed 1 night but would have loved to have stayed longer.

Reviewer:Lynda L | Sun 25th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Very pleasant stay, comfy beds - Rating 4/5

We had a great overnight stay here, about a mile from the historic Blacksmith Shop. The beds were very comfortable. Even with 3 beds (1 king, 2 twins) the room felt spacious.We ordered the grab-n-go breakfasts which were simple, but delivered right to our room. The owners were wonderful and very kind.

Reviewer:Jen B | Sat 24th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


1 night stay- Rating 4/5

Place was clean and tidy breakfast was superb

Reviewer:Ivor B | Mon 19th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Very comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night with my friend.Was greeted in a very friendly manner.Found the hotel very clean and comfortable.Would recommend.

Reviewer:Mary J | Mon 19th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Friendly Welcoming Hotel - Rating 5/5

We stayed overnight on route to Northern Ireland and this hotel provided everything we needed.From the moment we walked through the door and were greeted with a warm welcome to the point where we checked out.

Reviewer:Sebastian M | Fri 16th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

Accommodation was excellent, a friendly welcome, good food, lovely atmosphere. Would recommend for short or longer stay.

Reviewer:Fionna B | Thu 15th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Home from Home - Rating 5/5

Stayed at Hunters Lodge overnight en route to Manchester from Inverness.Very comfortable and clean.We didn't eat there this time as we had an early start in the morning but have eaten there in the past - excellent.Will book in when next visiting the south.

Reviewer:Carol M | Thu 15th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Our last minute stop - Rating 5/5

Whilst touring Scotland in our van we stumbled across this little gem. What used to be an ex officers mess was now a warm welcoming hotel. We had been drenched for couple of nights we thought sod it we have a hotel for the night. We met Linda the hostess a bubbly character. She made us feel welcome straight away. The rooms are large with an equally large ensuite. Both spacious. We did find the bed too hard for our liking but that's our issue not the hotels. The food was tasty and plentiful, and reasonably priced. The bar also reasonably priced. Though our our short stay Linda and her team worked not stop to make us feel comfortable. Her local knowledge outside of the standard weddings and forge was interesting and her knowledge of local points of interest is never ending. A great place to stay and will hopefully return for another visit

Reviewer:David R | Fri 9th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely welcome, lovely stay. Lovely food!What more could you ask for!

Reviewer:Mrs Mary B | Thu 8th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Glad we stayed here - Rating 5/5

Only stayed one night as we were heading north, but made to feel really welcome. Room was spotless. Food was very good, we had a bar meal in the evening and a particularly good breakfast. Glad we chose this instead of one of the hotels on the M6.

Reviewer:Jeremy C | Mon 5th Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


Home from home experience- Rating 5/5

7 of us came to stay at the hotel, we got married at the blacksmith,not one of us have a bad word to say, accommodation was perfect the family who run the hotel were lovely and welcoming.We would highly recommend Hunters lodge to others with children.

Reviewer:Rebecca D | Fri 2nd Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


superb - Rating 5/5

Absolutelly amazing time spending in this hotel - super staff members and delicious breakfast - I recomend this place. I'm back there is possible soon ^^

Reviewer:Mariusz K | Mon 29th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Finally got there after 44 years! - Rating 5/5

Lovely little hotel, fabulous hostess, who keeps the chef well hidden! Nice room, excellent service.

Reviewer:Howard A | Fri 26th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Hunters lodge hotel - Rating 4/5

Lovely family run hotel. Room was lovely and clean and spacious. Food was very good

Reviewer:Ella D | Mon 22nd Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Charming- Rating 5/5

Spacious room in a beautiful little lodge run by friendly, helpful people who are very knowledgeable about the area and it’s hist.Wish we could have stayed longer.

Reviewer:Mark M | Sat 20th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Great Stay - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable and pleasant overnight stay. Good evening meal and continental breakfast.

Reviewer:James M | Fri 19th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Return visit ,on our way to north Berwick .stop over . - Rating 5/5

Been before ,good place to relax and eat ,bit of site seeing ,good breakfast lovely hosts.

Reviewer:Ms Lynda B | Fri 19th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Very nice - Rating 5/5

Lovely accommodation with very friendly staff. Recommend Hunters Lodge for all age groups.

Reviewer:Andrew S | Sun 14th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Mrs- Rating 4/5

Comfortable sleep . Lovely breakfast.

Reviewer:Mrs Sue W | Mon 8th Jul 2019 | 5 months ago


Perfect position- Rating 5/5

Perfectly placed to explore the area and easy walking distance to all Gretna Green has to offer. Good comfy beds and spacious rooms.

Reviewer:Paul C | Thu 4th Jul 2019 | 5 months ago


Lovely meals and a nice hotel - Rating 5/5

Breakfast and eve meal excellent

Reviewer:Helen C | Mon 1st Jul 2019 | 5 months ago


Returning clients - Rating 5/5

Another great stay with family, Linda and Garry are fantastic hosts who willingly go the extra mile. Comfy beds, spacious rooms in a quiet location, the food is exceptional and the lemon tart is to die for. See you in September!

Reviewer:Sandra C | Tue 25th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Short trip - Rating 5/5

Great wee hotel to stop off in Gretna for shopping and food was nice.

Reviewer:Navid S | Sun 23rd Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Suitable for our requirements. - Rating 4/5

Warm, friendly and very helpful staff. The twin room was comfortable, clean and a good size for two. A very restful night.Good information on facilities that were available if needed.Not far to wall to the Gretna Outlet and the Blacksmith's Forge.Can't comment on breakfast because we had to leave early and didn't have any.

Reviewer:Stephanie T | Thu 30th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Fab - Rating 5/5

Lovely place to stay. Good food very comfy bed and hosts great people. Good choice for breakfast shame I was a little under the weather to do it justice. I would come here again.

Reviewer:JULIE Q | Sun 12th May 2019 | 6 months ago


A good nights sleep - Rating 4/5

We had a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed and a lovely breakfast the next morning to send us on our way.

Reviewer:David K | Sat 4th May 2019 | 7 months ago


Lovely hotel. - Rating 4/5

Close to register office, retail outlet.Clean, nicely decorated rooms. Bathroom small.Staff friendly and helpful, went extra mile by chilling our prossecco for us. Highly recommend.

Reviewer:Mr Malcom M | Fri 3rd May 2019 | 7 months ago


Overnight say - Rating 5/5

Hotel staff were very welcoming and could not do enough for us. Food in hotel was excellent and could not fault a thing. Hotel was a little dated but was spotlessly clean. Beds very comfortable.

Reviewer:Alana O | Mon 29th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Weekend Stay- Rating 4/5

very friendly staff, very spacious room, lovely food, no real complaints. Would definitely come back

Reviewer:sabrina m | Mon 22nd Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Only one night. - Rating 5/5

Would definitely visit again if I’m in that neck of the woods. The proprietress Linda was very welcoming and friendly, made my family feel at home. We were glad we had the full breakfast in the morning as that kept us going most of the day. Accommodation was clean, the pint of Carling was refreshing. Definitely plan a stay if your passing.

Reviewer:Ary G | Fri 19th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Fantastic Stay - Rating 4/5

Had a great time, care and attention from staff was super the whole weekend. Ideally located next to shops and various outlets. Would certainly recommend this place to friends and family.

Reviewer:John G | Wed 17th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Overnight stays - Rating 4/5

Just as welcoming as usual. We will be back

Reviewer:Mr David P | Sun 14th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Clean and needs met - Rating 4/5

Clean affordable room. Excellent for our short stay.

Reviewer:Lesley W | Thu 4th Apr 2019 | 8 months ago


Lovely bnb- Rating 4/5

Perfect little bnb if you're a guest at a wedding.Beds are comfortable, rooms are clean.Fresh towels daily if you need them.Staff sre very helpful and friendly.Would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Zoe E | Sun 24th Mar 2019 | 8 months ago


March visit - Rating 5/5

Hotel was as good as it always is.good evening meal and breakfast.Always well looked after here. Look forward to our next visit.

Reviewer:Mr David P | Sun 24th Mar 2019 | 8 months ago


50th Birthday Bash. - Rating 5/5

Had to laugh. Everyone else in the Birthday party stayed in the big expensive lovely looking Hotel a mile away. They complained of;Bad sleep because rooms like saunas, broken toilets, green mold all around the silicon bath seal and, apparently, the breakfast sausages where appalling.( Not to mention the price of ale...)They should have stayed at The Hunters.Lovely room. Clean, very roomy, perfect temperature for sleep in the big comfy bed. Friendly staff and absolutely no mold anywhere to be seen.Cant knock that at less than half the price all our friends payed. Ha!Do yourself a favour - Stay at The Hunters.We

Reviewer:Chris B | Sun 10th Feb 2019 | 9 months ago


First ciass - Rating 5/5

Once again first clas service received. First class service, first class accomodation andfirst class service. Looking to return very soon as the proprietors are very friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:Sandra C | Sun 30th Dec 2018 | 11 months ago


Places to stay in Gretna - Rating 5/5

Hunters Lodge is a lovely hotel. Very traditional and friendly.Clean room and good price.Would defiantly stay again.

Reviewer:David M | Sat 15th Dec 2018 | 11 months ago


Our Stay- Rating 5/5

Very helpful service clean,bright and spacious room. Comfortable four poster bed, breakfast was good nice cup of tea. Will stay there again highly recommend it.

Reviewer:Mr Tony C | Thu 29th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Great value with friendly hosts - Rating 5/5

Great value, friendly hosts great food

Reviewer:David G | Thu 29th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Comfort and Convenience - Rating 4/5

Had an unplanned two night stay at the hotel due to late reservations, which were the best deals around. The lady who checked me in on both occasions was very friendly and helpful. The second night I needed a hot bath after my days exploits and opted for the double room annexe. The room was spacious and had all I required for a relaxing evening. Enjoyed excellent fish and chips at the nearby takeaway, which was recommended to me at the hotel. The hotel is well positioned for a day out to the Borders, Cumbria, Dumfries &Galloway etc.

Reviewer:Gordon A | Sun 25th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Comfort & Convenience - Rating 4/5

Had an unplanned two night stay at the hotel due to late reservations, which were the best deals around. The lady who checked me in on both occasions was very friendly and helpful. The second night I needed a hot bath after my days exploits and opted for the double room annexe. The room was spacious and had all I required for a relaxing evening. Enjoyed excellent fish and chips at the nearby takeaway, which was recommended to me at the hotel. The hotel is well positioned for a day out to the Borders, Cumbria, Dumfries &Galloway etc.

Reviewer:Gordon A | Sun 25th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Great stay again.- Rating 5/5

Had a great night as always. Nice food 🥘 and beer 🍺.Room was warm and comfortable. Always a pleasure to stay at the hunters lodge.

Reviewer:Mr Paul M | Sun 18th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Great Hotel - Rating 5/5

Lovely hosts, great hotel - would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Ms Pippa A | Tue 13th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Last minute booking - Rating 5/5

This was a late booking in the evening and we didn't know what to expect.When we arrived we were met by the owner who was very chatty and welcoming. The room was clean, warm and had coffee and tea making facilities. The bed was nice and firm and we had a great nights sleep. Linda brought us extra milk and coffee as were leaving early in the morning and were unfortunately unable to make breakfast.Great value, we will be using Hunters Lodge again.Thanks

Reviewer:Mr Paul E | Thu 8th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Mid journey stopover - Rating 5/5

A lovely warm welcome at reception by the owner. Put us at our ease and led us to a very pleasant room.We had freshly made pizza for supper, which was first class.Breakfast the following morning was also excellent. We'll be back

Reviewer:Valerie C | Wed 7th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Shopping- Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel clean.cosy and a lovely view from our room a credit to the family .

Reviewer:Christine9 M | Mon 5th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


overnightstay27/10/2018 - Rating 5/5

alwaysapleasuretostayathunterslodgecomfortablecleanexcellentbreakfastclosetooutletvillageandvisitorcentrehostesslindaalwayscharming

Reviewer:william h | Tue 30th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Hunters Lodge - Rating 4/5

Nice hotel very clean fresh bedding clran white towels. Only down side was the room was cold. We would stay here again.

Reviewer:Mari T | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Stay at hunters lodge- Rating 5/5

We stayed 27/10/18 .we had a lovely time .room was huge very clean and tidy. The host was really nce and very helpful.breakfast was lovely. Great place to stay if your going to gretna gateway. Its only5 minutes walk .would recommend to anyone

Reviewer:Hugh S | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Really nice place- Rating 5/5

As always I had a very good stay nice and warm and very comfortable. Will always try and stay there when I’m in the area.

Reviewer:Paul M | Fri 19th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


our first stay - Rating 5/5

last minute booking but delighted with our choice - good food good service lovely room but best of all lovely people

Reviewer:R Karl B | Thu 18th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Comfortable and cosy- Rating 4/5

Large room. Friendly and helpful host. Good location.

Reviewer:Heather P | Thu 18th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Comfort and courtesy- Rating 5/5

We have been travelling around Scotland for over a week but found this lovely hotel a most friendly establishment with well kept comfortable rooms and warm and welcoming staff. Will certainly stay again. Also excellent value for money.

Reviewer:Sherwyn M | Thu 27th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Stop over - Rating 4/5

Very welcoming, friendly &helpful. Large clean room with all we needed for our one night stopover. While travelling further north.very good on the run breakfast offered.Thank you

Reviewer:Sallie C | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


A warm Scottish Welcome- Rating 4/5

Lovely small hotel,excellent food &drink,very good value for money.

Reviewer:Ian B | Fri 21st Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Pleasant Hotel - Rating 5/5

Extremely clean and comfortable.Very friendly.

Reviewer:Andrea E | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


September 2018 - Rating 5/5

Very helpful owner. Loved the smile and laughter. Room was better than expected. Overall a good stay.

Reviewer:Janet D | Tue 4th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely place - Rating 5/5

Fantastic stay here. Linda was lovely, friendly and really helpful. The breakfast was tasty and filling. We stayed here on our way to the Highlands and couldn't fault it. Would gladly stay again.

Reviewer:Mandy C | Thu 23rd Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our overnight stay very much in a comfortable, clean room.Breakfast was fist class. "Staff"were very nice to us which made a difference to our stay.Would certainly recommend this hotel to stay in.

Reviewer:Carol M | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Good quality- Rating 5/5

Perfect stay, the receptionist was very friendly and give us very nice service.

Reviewer:Edwuin Herrera R | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


See my trip advisor - Rating 5/5

EnjoyedSee trip advisor

Reviewer:Mr Barry M | Thu 2nd Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent service - Rating 5/5

Booked for one night to break the journey home and made a very good choice . Very friendly owner greeted us and took us to a lovely room at the annex and if I do that on our next visit I will try again for this room.A great breakfast was also providedfully cooked.,

Reviewer:Mr Barry M | Sun 29th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Gretna stopover. - Rating 5/5

Hi there I would like to say that I had two stops at this hotel in ten days. The rooms were clean tidy and very spacious. We really liked the highland coo designed pictures and throws. We had a number of dogs with us and they very helpfull with walks and advice. They also came and had a fuss with the dogs. Had evening meal and breakfast on both visits all served with a happy attitude. Meals all very good.Overall a very pleasent stay. Would recommend highly for stay. In fact allready have.Andy Rose.

Reviewer:andrew r | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Stay at Hunters Lodge- Rating 5/5

We once again very much enjoyed our stay at Hunters Lodge as we did 17 years ago when we were married. Thanks to Linda and Gary for all they did to make our stay memorable.

Reviewer:Andrew R | Sun 22nd Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Family room - Rating 5/5

We stayed in the family room. It was a lovely large room. The service at the lodge was excellent. They went above and beyond to make us feel very welcome. Would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Mr/Mrs Danielle Brown| Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Overnight Stay - Rating 4/5

Booked in for one night while attending a family function locally. We didn't require many of the facilities but would stay again and use it as a base for exploring the surrounding area.

Reviewer:Martin B | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely hotel. - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel in prime position.we travelled as a family for my sons wedding in gretna green and stayed here which was a good decision.lovely clean rooms very friendly staff and very peaceful.its a family run hotel and would highly recomemmend.

Reviewer:Mr/Mrs DANNY MILBY| Wed 27th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Hotel Stay for Two Nights - Rating 5/5

We had a very enjoyable stay.We could not fault Linda and Gary and their daughter Sophie who made us very welcome.We would certainly come again and recommend the hotel highly to anyone visiting Gretna.

Reviewer:Mrs Katherine O\'Reilly| Wed 27th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely - Rating 5/5

Just returned from a lovely stay at hunters lodge hotelVery comfortable pleasantly decorated good sized bedroom Just a short distance from the outlet villagefood lovely staff very welcoming would definitely stay again

Reviewer:Mr/Mrs anne-marie Nelson| Tue 5th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


On the way home. - Rating 4/5

A very comfortable night, lovely dinner,made to feel very welcome,and a cheery goodbye with nice bacon rolls to go.

Reviewer:Ray J | Sun 27th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent.Arrived late but well fed and watered by very nice family team. Room large and spotless.Highly recommended

Reviewer:Antony O | Sun 27th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Very comfortable. - Rating 4/5

A very warm welcome.Spacious room with classic furniture and comfy beds. Very quiet in annex room.Loved the pictures.On site parking.

Reviewer:Mr/Mrs sheena mcwha| Sun 20th May 2018 | 1 year ago


over night stay - Rating 5/5

Easy to find hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, large clean room with nice decor, usual features, free WiFi, tv,drink making, towels and toiletries. We arrived after last food orders but they were very happy to make a meal for us, we also had a drink and retired to our bedroom, this being nice and quiet and very comfortable. We left the following morning after wandering around Gretna green, on leaving we were wished a safe journey by the friendly and helpful staff. Recommend this hotel with thanks.

Reviewer:William Alwyn L | Sun 20th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Nice Accomodation - Rating 5/5

We stayed here overnight on our trip.The staff was very pleasant and the room large and comfortable for four adults.There was plenty of room for all of . Would recommend it a a place to stay for your holiday, wish we could have stayed longer as there is lots to see and do in the area.

Reviewer:Susan Margaret McIsaac| Thu 17th May 2018 | 1 year ago


weddingday - Rating 5/5

westayedat the hotel to prepare for our wedding and later had our reception there linda helped make our day wonderful the buffet was excellentandall our needs catered for many of us stayed overnight and took a hearty breakfast i would highly recommendhunters lodge to everyoneBillandDianePreston.

Reviewer:Mr/Mrs william hardman| Sun 29th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Fantastic day to remember - Rating 5/5

Shaun and I would just like to thank you and all your wonderful staff for making our wedding last weekend a very special and fantastic day to remember! Everything was perfect - accommodation, meals, flowers, piper and car and thanks to your terrific organising skills it was truly stress-free! Everyone had a great time and really enjoyed it. Thank you once again and we all hope to see you again - maybe for Shaun's birthday and our first anniversary next year! Best wishes for continued success.

Reviewer:Sandra Harrison| Fri 20th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


EXTRA special - Rating 5/5

Just wanted to thank you all for having us stay at your hotel on our wedding weekend. It was perfect. Thanks to you for all your help in organising, it was a huge weight of our shoulders. A huge thanks to you all and your lovely staff for helping to make our special day and weekend EXTRA special.

Reviewer:Connie & Roger| Fri 20th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Absolutely perfect - Rating 5/5

Just a quick note to thank you so much for all your help with the guests for Hayley and Gary's wedding. The weekend was absolutely perfect and you all made us so welcome. Every member of your staff made us feel that nothing was too much trouble, even little Jak running around and causing mayhem everywhere! The food also was wonderful. I will certainly recommend you to anyone thinking of booking a wedding in Gretna

Reviewer:Pam Auld (mother of the b | Mon 13th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


Fantastic wedding - Rating 5/5

I want to thank you both for giving us a wonderful wedding weekend. We had a fantastic wedding. You made us all feel so welcome and nothing was any trouble to you

Reviewer:Dawn & Jason Hassett| Tue 10th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Very lovely stay in Gretna - Rating 5/5

We would just like to say thank you for a very lovely stay in Gretna. You were more than helpful in all aspects and the room was great. The breakfast was excellent and you and your staff could not have been more helpful. We will remember our special day and this is in no small part due to the warm welcome we received from you and your staff. We would not hesitate to recommend you to our friends and family. We consider ourselves well travelled but this was probably one of the nicest places we have ever stayed. Thanks again

Reviewer:Jill & Mandy| Sun 10th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Wonderful welcome and hospitality - Rating 5/5

What more can we say, thank you so much for the wonderful welcome and hospitality from yourselves and your staff which are a credit to you. The delicious food was always served with a smile and nothing was too much trouble making the wedding of Peter and Barbara complete. I will recommend you to one and all. Thank you again

Reviewer:Karen| Sun 3rd Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Everyone had a lovely time - Rating 5/5

We just wanted to thank you for everything last week. You made sure everything went smoothly for our wedding day. Everyone had a lovely time.

Reviewer:Natasha and Brian Erskine| Tue 29th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent hospitality - Rating 5/5

I would like to say thank you very much for the excellent hospitality you showed us earlier this month. Our Wedding Day in Gretna was perfect and our stay at Hunter's Lodge was the icing on the cake

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Spencer| Mon 10th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Clean, friendly and very welcoming - Rating 5/5

Just a quick word to say how we, the Banks family, enjoyed our stay at your hotel. The hotel was clean, friendly and very welcoming. The family room for five was perfect, just perfect, we couldn't ask for more. We will be sure to book with you should we ever travel into Scotland again. Thanks again.

Reviewer:Jeff Banks| Wed 22nd Feb 2017 | 2 years ago


Nothing seemed to be to much trouble - Rating 5/5

Hi Linda. Jackie and I just wanted to thank you for all your help during both our wedding and the run up to it. Great dealing with you as nothing seemed to be to much trouble to you and you made the whole thing so much easier and we had a great day. We look forward to seeing you again next year when we celebrate our 1st anniversary.

Reviewer:Bill & Jackie| Thu 5th Jan 2017 | 2 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Bridal Suite
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Wedding Functions
  • Walking Holidays