Reviews

What people are saying about Hunters Lodge Hotel




Fab - Rating 5/5

Lovely place to stay. Good food very comfy bed and hosts great people. Good choice for breakfast shame I was a little under the weather to do it justice. I would come here again.

Reviewer:JULIE Q | Sun 12th May 2019 | 1 week ago


A good nights sleep - Rating 4/5

We had a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed and a lovely breakfast the next morning to send us on our way.

Reviewer:David K | Sat 4th May 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Lovely hotel. - Rating 4/5

Close to register office, retail outlet.Clean, nicely decorated rooms. Bathroom small.Staff friendly and helpful, went extra mile by chilling our prossecco for us. Highly recommend.

Reviewer:Mr Malcom M | Fri 3rd May 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Overnight say - Rating 5/5

Hotel staff were very welcoming and could not do enough for us. Food in hotel was excellent and could not fault a thing. Hotel was a little dated but was spotlessly clean. Beds very comfortable.

Reviewer:Alana O | Mon 29th Apr 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Weekend Stay- Rating 4/5

very friendly staff, very spacious room, lovely food, no real complaints. Would definitely come back

Reviewer:sabrina m | Mon 22nd Apr 2019 | 1 month ago


Only one night. - Rating 5/5

Would definitely visit again if I’m in that neck of the woods. The proprietress Linda was very welcoming and friendly, made my family feel at home. We were glad we had the full breakfast in the morning as that kept us going most of the day. Accommodation was clean, the pint of Carling was refreshing. Definitely plan a stay if your passing.

Reviewer:Ary G | Fri 19th Apr 2019 | 1 month ago


Fantastic Stay - Rating 4/5

Had a great time, care and attention from staff was super the whole weekend. Ideally located next to shops and various outlets. Would certainly recommend this place to friends and family.

Reviewer:John G | Wed 17th Apr 2019 | 1 month ago


Overnight stays - Rating 4/5

Just as welcoming as usual. We will be back

Reviewer:Mr David P | Sun 14th Apr 2019 | 1 month ago


Clean and needs met - Rating 4/5

Clean affordable room. Excellent for our short stay.

Reviewer:Lesley W | Thu 4th Apr 2019 | 1 month ago


Lovely bnb- Rating 4/5

Perfect little bnb if you're a guest at a wedding.Beds are comfortable, rooms are clean.Fresh towels daily if you need them.Staff sre very helpful and friendly.Would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Zoe E | Sun 24th Mar 2019 | 2 months ago


March visit - Rating 5/5

Hotel was as good as it always is.good evening meal and breakfast.Always well looked after here. Look forward to our next visit.

Reviewer:Mr David P | Sun 24th Mar 2019 | 2 months ago


50th Birthday Bash. - Rating 5/5

Had to laugh. Everyone else in the Birthday party stayed in the big expensive lovely looking Hotel a mile away. They complained of;Bad sleep because rooms like saunas, broken toilets, green mold all around the silicon bath seal and, apparently, the breakfast sausages where appalling.( Not to mention the price of ale...)They should have stayed at The Hunters.Lovely room. Clean, very roomy, perfect temperature for sleep in the big comfy bed. Friendly staff and absolutely no mold anywhere to be seen.Cant knock that at less than half the price all our friends payed. Ha!Do yourself a favour - Stay at The Hunters.We

Reviewer:Chris B | Sun 10th Feb 2019 | 3 months ago


First ciass - Rating 5/5

Once again first clas service received. First class service, first class accomodation andfirst class service. Looking to return very soon as the proprietors are very friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:Sandra C | Sun 30th Dec 2018 | 4 months ago


Places to stay in Gretna - Rating 5/5

Hunters Lodge is a lovely hotel. Very traditional and friendly.Clean room and good price.Would defiantly stay again.

Reviewer:David M | Sat 15th Dec 2018 | 5 months ago


Our Stay- Rating 5/5

Very helpful service clean,bright and spacious room. Comfortable four poster bed, breakfast was good nice cup of tea. Will stay there again highly recommend it.

Reviewer:Mr Tony C | Thu 29th Nov 2018 | 5 months ago


Great value with friendly hosts - Rating 5/5

Great value, friendly hosts great food

Reviewer:David G | Thu 29th Nov 2018 | 5 months ago


Comfort and Convenience - Rating 4/5

Had an unplanned two night stay at the hotel due to late reservations, which were the best deals around. The lady who checked me in on both occasions was very friendly and helpful. The second night I needed a hot bath after my days exploits and opted for the double room annexe. The room was spacious and had all I required for a relaxing evening. Enjoyed excellent fish and chips at the nearby takeaway, which was recommended to me at the hotel. The hotel is well positioned for a day out to the Borders, Cumbria, Dumfries &Galloway etc.

Reviewer:Gordon A | Sun 25th Nov 2018 | 6 months ago


Comfort & Convenience - Rating 4/5

Had an unplanned two night stay at the hotel due to late reservations, which were the best deals around. The lady who checked me in on both occasions was very friendly and helpful. The second night I needed a hot bath after my days exploits and opted for the double room annexe. The room was spacious and had all I required for a relaxing evening. Enjoyed excellent fish and chips at the nearby takeaway, which was recommended to me at the hotel. The hotel is well positioned for a day out to the Borders, Cumbria, Dumfries &Galloway etc.

Reviewer:Gordon A | Sun 25th Nov 2018 | 6 months ago


Great stay again.- Rating 5/5

Had a great night as always. Nice food 🥘 and beer 🍺.Room was warm and comfortable. Always a pleasure to stay at the hunters lodge.

Reviewer:Mr Paul M | Sun 18th Nov 2018 | 6 months ago


Great Hotel - Rating 5/5

Lovely hosts, great hotel - would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Ms Pippa A | Tue 13th Nov 2018 | 6 months ago


Last minute booking - Rating 5/5

This was a late booking in the evening and we didn't know what to expect.When we arrived we were met by the owner who was very chatty and welcoming. The room was clean, warm and had coffee and tea making facilities. The bed was nice and firm and we had a great nights sleep. Linda brought us extra milk and coffee as were leaving early in the morning and were unfortunately unable to make breakfast.Great value, we will be using Hunters Lodge again.Thanks

Reviewer:Mr Paul E | Thu 8th Nov 2018 | 6 months ago


Mid journey stopover - Rating 5/5

A lovely warm welcome at reception by the owner. Put us at our ease and led us to a very pleasant room.We had freshly made pizza for supper, which was first class.Breakfast the following morning was also excellent. We'll be back

Reviewer:Valerie C | Wed 7th Nov 2018 | 6 months ago


Shopping- Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel clean.cosy and a lovely view from our room a credit to the family .

Reviewer:Christine9 M | Mon 5th Nov 2018 | 6 months ago


overnightstay27/10/2018 - Rating 5/5

alwaysapleasuretostayathunterslodgecomfortablecleanexcellentbreakfastclosetooutletvillageandvisitorcentrehostesslindaalwayscharming

Reviewer:william h | Tue 30th Oct 2018 | 6 months ago


Hunters Lodge - Rating 4/5

Nice hotel very clean fresh bedding clran white towels. Only down side was the room was cold. We would stay here again.

Reviewer:Mari T | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 6 months ago


Stay at hunters lodge- Rating 5/5

We stayed 27/10/18 .we had a lovely time .room was huge very clean and tidy. The host was really nce and very helpful.breakfast was lovely. Great place to stay if your going to gretna gateway. Its only5 minutes walk .would recommend to anyone

Reviewer:Hugh S | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 6 months ago


Really nice place- Rating 5/5

As always I had a very good stay nice and warm and very comfortable. Will always try and stay there when I’m in the area.

Reviewer:Paul M | Fri 19th Oct 2018 | 7 months ago


our first stay - Rating 5/5

last minute booking but delighted with our choice - good food good service lovely room but best of all lovely people

Reviewer:R Karl B | Thu 18th Oct 2018 | 7 months ago


Comfortable and cosy- Rating 4/5

Large room. Friendly and helpful host. Good location.

Reviewer:Heather P | Thu 18th Oct 2018 | 7 months ago


Comfort and courtesy- Rating 5/5

We have been travelling around Scotland for over a week but found this lovely hotel a most friendly establishment with well kept comfortable rooms and warm and welcoming staff. Will certainly stay again. Also excellent value for money.

Reviewer:Sherwyn M | Thu 27th Sep 2018 | 8 months ago


Stop over - Rating 4/5

Very welcoming, friendly &helpful. Large clean room with all we needed for our one night stopover. While travelling further north.very good on the run breakfast offered.Thank you

Reviewer:Sallie C | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 8 months ago


A warm Scottish Welcome- Rating 4/5

Lovely small hotel,excellent food &drink,very good value for money.

Reviewer:Ian B | Fri 21st Sep 2018 | 8 months ago


Pleasant Hotel - Rating 5/5

Extremely clean and comfortable.Very friendly.

Reviewer:Andrea E | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 8 months ago


September 2018 - Rating 5/5

Very helpful owner. Loved the smile and laughter. Room was better than expected. Overall a good stay.

Reviewer:Janet D | Tue 4th Sep 2018 | 8 months ago


Lovely place - Rating 5/5

Fantastic stay here. Linda was lovely, friendly and really helpful. The breakfast was tasty and filling. We stayed here on our way to the Highlands and couldn't fault it. Would gladly stay again.

Reviewer:Mandy C | Thu 23rd Aug 2018 | 9 months ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our overnight stay very much in a comfortable, clean room.Breakfast was fist class. "Staff"were very nice to us which made a difference to our stay.Would certainly recommend this hotel to stay in.

Reviewer:Carol M | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 9 months ago


Good quality- Rating 5/5

Perfect stay, the receptionist was very friendly and give us very nice service.

Reviewer:Edwuin Herrera R | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 9 months ago


See my trip advisor - Rating 5/5

EnjoyedSee trip advisor

Reviewer:Mr Barry M | Thu 2nd Aug 2018 | 9 months ago


Excellent service - Rating 5/5

Booked for one night to break the journey home and made a very good choice . Very friendly owner greeted us and took us to a lovely room at the annex and if I do that on our next visit I will try again for this room.A great breakfast was also providedfully cooked.,

Reviewer:Mr Barry M | Sun 29th Jul 2018 | 10 months ago


Gretna stopover. - Rating 5/5

Hi there I would like to say that I had two stops at this hotel in ten days. The rooms were clean tidy and very spacious. We really liked the highland coo designed pictures and throws. We had a number of dogs with us and they very helpfull with walks and advice. They also came and had a fuss with the dogs. Had evening meal and breakfast on both visits all served with a happy attitude. Meals all very good.Overall a very pleasent stay. Would recommend highly for stay. In fact allready have.Andy Rose.

Reviewer:andrew r | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 10 months ago


Stay at Hunters Lodge- Rating 5/5

We once again very much enjoyed our stay at Hunters Lodge as we did 17 years ago when we were married. Thanks to Linda and Gary for all they did to make our stay memorable.

Reviewer:Andrew R | Sun 22nd Jul 2018 | 10 months ago


Family room - Rating 5/5

We stayed in the family room. It was a lovely large room. The service at the lodge was excellent. They went above and beyond to make us feel very welcome. Would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Mr/Mrs Danielle Brown| Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 10 months ago


Overnight Stay - Rating 4/5

Booked in for one night while attending a family function locally. We didn't require many of the facilities but would stay again and use it as a base for exploring the surrounding area.

Reviewer:Martin B | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 10 months ago


Lovely hotel. - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel in prime position.we travelled as a family for my sons wedding in gretna green and stayed here which was a good decision.lovely clean rooms very friendly staff and very peaceful.its a family run hotel and would highly recomemmend.

Reviewer:Mr/Mrs DANNY MILBY| Wed 27th Jun 2018 | 11 months ago


Hotel Stay for Two Nights - Rating 5/5

We had a very enjoyable stay.We could not fault Linda and Gary and their daughter Sophie who made us very welcome.We would certainly come again and recommend the hotel highly to anyone visiting Gretna.

Reviewer:Mrs Katherine O\'Reilly| Wed 27th Jun 2018 | 11 months ago


Lovely - Rating 5/5

Just returned from a lovely stay at hunters lodge hotelVery comfortable pleasantly decorated good sized bedroom Just a short distance from the outlet villagefood lovely staff very welcoming would definitely stay again

Reviewer:Mr/Mrs anne-marie Nelson| Tue 5th Jun 2018 | 11 months ago


On the way home. - Rating 4/5

A very comfortable night, lovely dinner,made to feel very welcome,and a cheery goodbye with nice bacon rolls to go.

Reviewer:Ray J | Sun 27th May 2018 | 12 months ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent.Arrived late but well fed and watered by very nice family team. Room large and spotless.Highly recommended

Reviewer:Antony O | Sun 27th May 2018 | 12 months ago


Very comfortable. - Rating 4/5

A very warm welcome.Spacious room with classic furniture and comfy beds. Very quiet in annex room.Loved the pictures.On site parking.

Reviewer:Mr/Mrs sheena mcwha| Sun 20th May 2018 | 1 year ago


over night stay - Rating 5/5

Easy to find hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, large clean room with nice decor, usual features, free WiFi, tv,drink making, towels and toiletries. We arrived after last food orders but they were very happy to make a meal for us, we also had a drink and retired to our bedroom, this being nice and quiet and very comfortable. We left the following morning after wandering around Gretna green, on leaving we were wished a safe journey by the friendly and helpful staff. Recommend this hotel with thanks.

Reviewer:William Alwyn L | Sun 20th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Nice Accomodation - Rating 5/5

We stayed here overnight on our trip.The staff was very pleasant and the room large and comfortable for four adults.There was plenty of room for all of . Would recommend it a a place to stay for your holiday, wish we could have stayed longer as there is lots to see and do in the area.

Reviewer:Susan Margaret McIsaac| Thu 17th May 2018 | 1 year ago


weddingday - Rating 5/5

westayedat the hotel to prepare for our wedding and later had our reception there linda helped make our day wonderful the buffet was excellentandall our needs catered for many of us stayed overnight and took a hearty breakfast i would highly recommendhunters lodge to everyoneBillandDianePreston.

Reviewer:Mr/Mrs william hardman| Sun 29th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Fantastic day to remember - Rating 5/5

Shaun and I would just like to thank you and all your wonderful staff for making our wedding last weekend a very special and fantastic day to remember! Everything was perfect - accommodation, meals, flowers, piper and car and thanks to your terrific organising skills it was truly stress-free! Everyone had a great time and really enjoyed it. Thank you once again and we all hope to see you again - maybe for Shaun's birthday and our first anniversary next year! Best wishes for continued success.

Reviewer:Sandra Harrison| Fri 20th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


EXTRA special - Rating 5/5

Just wanted to thank you all for having us stay at your hotel on our wedding weekend. It was perfect. Thanks to you for all your help in organising, it was a huge weight of our shoulders. A huge thanks to you all and your lovely staff for helping to make our special day and weekend EXTRA special.

Reviewer:Connie & Roger| Fri 20th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Absolutely perfect - Rating 5/5

Just a quick note to thank you so much for all your help with the guests for Hayley and Gary's wedding. The weekend was absolutely perfect and you all made us so welcome. Every member of your staff made us feel that nothing was too much trouble, even little Jak running around and causing mayhem everywhere! The food also was wonderful. I will certainly recommend you to anyone thinking of booking a wedding in Gretna

Reviewer:Pam Auld (mother of the b | Mon 13th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Fantastic wedding - Rating 5/5

I want to thank you both for giving us a wonderful wedding weekend. We had a fantastic wedding. You made us all feel so welcome and nothing was any trouble to you

Reviewer:Dawn & Jason Hassett| Tue 10th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Very lovely stay in Gretna - Rating 5/5

We would just like to say thank you for a very lovely stay in Gretna. You were more than helpful in all aspects and the room was great. The breakfast was excellent and you and your staff could not have been more helpful. We will remember our special day and this is in no small part due to the warm welcome we received from you and your staff. We would not hesitate to recommend you to our friends and family. We consider ourselves well travelled but this was probably one of the nicest places we have ever stayed. Thanks again

Reviewer:Jill & Mandy| Sun 10th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Wonderful welcome and hospitality - Rating 5/5

What more can we say, thank you so much for the wonderful welcome and hospitality from yourselves and your staff which are a credit to you. The delicious food was always served with a smile and nothing was too much trouble making the wedding of Peter and Barbara complete. I will recommend you to one and all. Thank you again

Reviewer:Karen| Sun 3rd Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Everyone had a lovely time - Rating 5/5

We just wanted to thank you for everything last week. You made sure everything went smoothly for our wedding day. Everyone had a lovely time.

Reviewer:Natasha and Brian Erskine| Tue 29th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent hospitality - Rating 5/5

I would like to say thank you very much for the excellent hospitality you showed us earlier this month. Our Wedding Day in Gretna was perfect and our stay at Hunter's Lodge was the icing on the cake

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Spencer| Mon 10th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Clean, friendly and very welcoming - Rating 5/5

Just a quick word to say how we, the Banks family, enjoyed our stay at your hotel. The hotel was clean, friendly and very welcoming. The family room for five was perfect, just perfect, we couldn't ask for more. We will be sure to book with you should we ever travel into Scotland again. Thanks again.

Reviewer:Jeff Banks| Wed 22nd Feb 2017 | 2 years ago


Nothing seemed to be to much trouble - Rating 5/5

Hi Linda. Jackie and I just wanted to thank you for all your help during both our wedding and the run up to it. Great dealing with you as nothing seemed to be to much trouble to you and you made the whole thing so much easier and we had a great day. We look forward to seeing you again next year when we celebrate our 1st anniversary.

Reviewer:Bill & Jackie| Thu 5th Jan 2017 | 2 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Bridal Suite
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Wedding Functions
  • Walking Holidays